Final preparations are underway for the 19th season of Standardbred racing at Hoosier Park Racing & Casino. The 80-day meet begins Tuesday, March 27, offering five days of racing per week through Saturday, July 14. Post time Tuesday through Saturday is set at 5:30 p.m. EST.

 Hoosier Park will allow horsemen to ship in to use the racetrack beginning Monday, March 5. The track and paddock area will be open from 8 am until noon for ship-in training through Saturday, March 10. Track usage by horsemen during this time will be allowed weather permitting.

 Stalls have been allotted for the upcoming season by Hoosier Park Race Secretary Kevin Mack. Horsemen who have been granted stalls for the meet may begin moving in equipment and setting up stalls Saturday, March 10 and Sunday, March 11. Horses may begin moving into the barn area beginning Monday, March 12. Dormitories will be available for occupancy at that time.

 A total of four qualifying days will be offered prior to opening night Tuesday, March 27. Qualifiers will be held each Wednesday and Saturday at 10 am. The first qualifier is set for Wednesday, March 14. A special evening qualifier is slated for Wednesday, March 21 beginning at 5:30 p.m.

 Entries for opening night will be taken in the racing office Thursday, March 22. The box will close for entries each race day at 1 p.m.

 The $200,000 Dan Patch Invitational will be the featured event Saturday, June 2. Also, the meet will conclude with Hoosier Champions, offering more than $1 million in purse money and featuring finals of the Indiana Sires Stakes. The evening will also be part of the national Back To The Track promotion organized by the U.S. Trotting Association.

 For more information on the upcoming Standardbred meet at Hoosier Park, go to www.hoosierpark.com.