Hoosier Park Racing & Casino’s 2012 Thoroughbred meet came to a close on Saturday, October 27th awarding Fernando De La Cruz with his first leading rider title at Hoosier Park Racing & Casino. The Peruvian jockey won 68 races to finish nine victories in front of Hoosier Park’s two-time defending leading jockey winner, Leandro Goncalves.

De La Cruz earned more than $1.3 million in purse earnings during the 64-day meet.

In the midst of his best season to date, De La Cruz has already posted over $3.1 million in purse earnings and ridden 155 winners in 2012. He has also posted four consecutive seasons with purse earnings toppling the $2 million mark. In 2011 alone, De La Cruz bankrolled over $3.5 million in purse earnings with 170 trips to the winner’s circle, many of which were accumulated between Hoosier Park and Indiana Downs.

De La Cruz has relocated to Churchill Downs before heading to Tampa Bay Downs for the winter. De La Cruz palns to return to the Indiana circuit in the spring when racing resumes.

“I’m very thankful to all the trainers that gave me the chance to ride some great horses,” De La Cruz noted. “Indiana has been very good to me and my family and I can’t wait to get back.”

In the trainer ranks, Tom Amoss won an allowance optional claiming event with Senor Rain on the closing day card to edge out three-time Hoosier Park leading trainer, Gary Patrick by one victory. With 25 trips to the winner’s circle, Amoss saddled the winners of over $506,000 in purse earnings throughout the meet to take home his second leading trainer title at Hoosier Park.

A native of New Orleans, Louisiana, Amoss has nine previous leading trainer titles to his credit with titles at Churchill Downs, Ellis Park, Kentucky Downs and the Fairgrounds.

Amoss, 50, has started more than 10,700 horses and has won over 2,400 of those starts. For 12 years in a row, he has won more than 100 races, and in 2011 Amoss sent out a career-best 163 winners, bankrolling over $4.3 million in purse earnings. The multiple Graded Stakes winning trainer has recently worked as a racing analyst for TVG and ESPN.

Amoss was followed in the standings by Gary Patrick with 24 wins and Walter Abner, who ended the season with 23 wins.

Gary Patrick didn’t go home empty-handed as he took home the leading owner trophy with 22 victories. A native of Ohio, the trophy notched Patrick’s third leading owner title in the 18-year history of Hoosier Park. Patrick also earned leading owner honors during the 1998, and 2011 seasons. Henry Mast’s Mast Thoroughbred, LLC finished second with 11 wins.

Category: Horse Racing, Sports